Circuit Engineering Districts

The Board of County Commissioners of any county can partner with any other county or counties located in their county’s Association of County Commissioners of Oklahoma (ACCO) district to create a circuit engineering district (CED).  A CED is considered a political subdivision of the state.

Grant County is a member of the CED 8 that includes the following counties:  Alfalfa, Beaver, Canadian, Cimarron, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Kingfisher, Major, Noble, Texas, Woods, Woodward.

In 1997 Circuit Engineering Districts (CED) were provided by law under Title 69 § 687.1, later amended in 1998. The law allows counties to come together as a cooperative and provide efficiencies that are not available to an individual county. The Districts act as a political subdivision of the counties. The Association of County Commissioners of Oklahoma (ACCO) hired staff to implement the program with funding provided through the State Auditor and Inspector’s office. Today the Oklahoma Cooperative Circuit Engineering Districts Board (OCCEDB) and CED’s are funded through state and county funds.

The state is divided into eight geographical areas, districts, where each county designates one County Commissioner to serve on the CED Board. The Districts mirror the same boundaries as the ACCO districts. The CED Board elects its own officers.

The Presidents of each CED are the members of the OCCEDB. This board has hired staff to handle statewide transportation issues and manage two funds, the Circuit Engineering District and the Emergency and Transportation Revolving funds.  

Grant County is apart of District #8 

Some of the accomplishments of our District include:

CED #8 staff conducting FHWA’s Safety Bridge Inspections.
Sign shop implemented to produce traffic signs.
Provide project management to expedite projects whether let to contract or county constructed.
Engineers & draftsmen on staff providing design & expertise on county roads and bridges.
Develop counties’ 5 year construction plans.  

If you have any questions please feel free to use the contact information provided below:

Donnie Head, Program Manager

Circuit Engineering District #8 (CED #8)

909 West Lakes Drive
Alva, OK 73717
(Phone) 580-327-2278
(Fax) 580-327-2219

For additional information please check the CED website: